Columbus State University Print Logo

Department of Biology

Department of Biology

Faculty and Staff

Dr. Ballenger

Dr. Julie Ballenger

Position: Department Chair / Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 333
Phone: 706-569-3015
E-mail: ballenger_julie@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Botany; plant systematics; floristic surveys of habitats in Georgia, Panama, Peru and the Bahamas

Dr. Barone

Dr. John Barone

Position: Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 332
Phone: 706-569-2832
E-mail: barone_john@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Animal-plant interactions; historical landscapes; tropical community structures

Dr. Burgess

Dr. Kevin Burgess

Position: Associate Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 324
Phone: 706-507-8266
E-mail: burgess_kevin@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Botany; Evolutionary Biology; plant ecological genetics
Personal Website     

Dr. Davis

Dr. John Davis

Position: Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 306
Phone: 706-569-3020
E-mail: davis_john@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Microbiology; ecology of soil bacteria

Ms. Davis

Ms. Joy Davis

Position: Administrative Secretary
Office: Lenoir Hall 151
Phone: 706-568-2065
E-mail: davis_joy@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Frazier

Dr. Monica Frazier

Position: Associate Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 329
Phone: 706-568-2067
E-mail: frazier_monica@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Cancer biology

Mr. Hanson

Mr. John Hanson

Position: Limited Term Lecturer
Office: Jordan Hall 341
Phone: 706-565-7811
E-mail: hanson_john1@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Hendricks

Dr. Harlan Hendricks

Position: Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 338
Phone: 706-568-2069
E-mail: hendricks_harlan@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Entomology; ecology and evolution of invertebrates

Dr. Holt

Dr. Daniel Holt

Position: Assistant Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 314
Phone: 706-565-3627
E-mail: holt_daniel1@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Hughes

Dr. Kathleen Hughes

Position: Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 303
Phone: 706-568-2325
E-mail: hughes_kathleen1@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Animal physiology; genetic basis of hypertension

Dr. King

Dr. Lauren King

Position: Assistant Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 307
Phone: 706-568-2052
E-mail: king_lauren4@columbusstate.edu

Mrs. Klar

Mrs. Elizabeth Klar

Position: Lecturer / Lab Manager
Office: Jordan Hall 336
Phone: 706-568-2059
E-mail: klar_elizabeth@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Newbrey

Dr. Jennifer Newbrey

Position: Associate Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 309
Phone: 706-507-8096
E-mail: newbrey_jennifer@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Newbrey

Dr. Michael Newbrey

Position: Lecturer
Office: Jordan Hall 357
Phone: 706-568-2300
E-mail: newbrey_michael@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Ichthyology, Ecology, Fisheries, Evolution

Dr. Ruehl

Dr. Clifton Ruehl

Position: Assistant Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 308
Phone: 706-565-4049
E-mail: ruehl_clifton@columbusstate.edu
Personal Website     

Dr. Schwartz

Dr. Brian Schwartz

Position: Professor / Assistant Chair
Office: Jordan Hall 328
Phone: 706-569-3017
E-mail: schwartz_brian@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Genetic ecology of plants; use of plants in remediation of contaminated soils and water

Dr. Stanton

Dr. George Stanton

Position: Professor Emeritus
Office: Lenoir Hall 151
Phone: 706-568-2065
E-mail: stanton_george@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Invertebrate ecology

Dr. Stokes

Dr. Glenn Stokes

Position: Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 310
Phone: 706-562-1471
E-mail: stokes_glenn@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Zuiderveen

Dr. Jeffrey Zuiderveen

Position: Professor
Office: Jordan Hall 305
Phone: 706-569-3019
E-mail: zuiderveen_jeffrey@columbusstate.edu
Discipline: Toxicology